Introducing NEW Steering Committee members!

We are happy to announce the results of the Electronic Records Section elections for 2015:

Chair-elect/Vice Chair: Kyle Henke (DePaul University)
Steering Committee: Ann Cooper (College of William and Mary)
Steering Committee: Carol Kussmann (University of Minnesota)

In order to get to know them, the bloggERS! sent out a three-question interview to each new member:

1. What made you decide you wanted to become an archivist?
2. What is one thing that you’d like to see the Electronic Records Section accomplish during your time on the steering committee?
3. What is your favorite GIF? 

Kyle Henke (DePaul University), Chair-Elect/Vice Chair

Q: What made you decide you wanted to become an archivist?

KH: My interest in archives came from an uncertain search result. As an undergraduate student at San Diego State University, majoring in History, I made a cursory search using the Library ILS and found some results that gave me a location of “Special Collections and Archives; Non-Circulating.” Having no idea what this meant, I sought out the object and had my first experience in an archival reading room. It was awkward, entering a closed-off room unsure of what I was doing. Luckily, the staff was courteous and helpful, making the process manageable. I found using primary sources was enthralling and continued to come back for nearly every paper I had to write, utilizing any primary resource I could that was relevant.

From there I took a second job in the Archives where I was treated like an intern, given projects intended to see varying aspects of the field to see if this was a profession I wanted to pursue. Some of it was routine, but always mentally engaging. Fairly quickly, I was pretty certain this was the right place for me. While content is always king, I find myself interested by the properties and structure of objects. Preserving the continuity and integrity of the object became the prevailing goal, whether it is the physical properties of a paper document or the digital properties of an mp3 file.

Q: What is one thing that you’d like to see the Electronic Records Section accomplish during your time as chair?

KH: For a number of years now I’ve worked in archives, focusing on digital content and systems. I’ve managed digital repositories, cross-walked metadata, developed policies and workflows and so much more. The pivotal component to my growth in the profession has been collaborating with colleagues in the field. I see the purpose of this group as a method to facilitate communication and encourage collaboration across the profession. I would like to continue developing methods of outreach and education for those within the profession and those on the outside. I like the direction the ERS blog (BloggERS) has gone and would like to promote and use this resource to directly involve our community and gain a wider audience.

Additionally, I’m interesting in investigating a way to connect one another to a project or idea that would contribute towards collaboration. I know I’ve had ideas for presentations or workshops that are halted as I become uncertain of the next steps or outcome. However, having informal talks with colleagues at work or at conferences allows fresh and different perspectives. Perhaps these informal collaborations could possibly lead beyond discussions and to outcomes such as posters, evaluations, speaking sessions, tutorials, workshops, instruction, etc.

Q: What is your favorite GIF?

https://31.media.tumblr.com/66783baac87573d10a182246f4037e09/tumblr_inline_nqvh9xlzEj1rpcnpz_500.gif

Ann Cooper (College of William and Mary), Steering Committee

AC: I decided to become an archivist because my interests and professional strengths fit a lot better with this field than they did with being a history professor. I haven’t regretted it and I’m happy doing what I do now.

Q: What is one thing that you’d like to see the Electronic Records Section accomplish during your time as chair?

AC: I’d like to see us develop and make available some guidelines for training staff in working with electronic material in specific situations or some sample training materials for archivists to use.

Q: What is your favorite GIF?

AC:
https://media.giphy.com/media/3oEduGjJPPpPLGnDO0/giphy.gif

Carol Kussmann (University of Minnesota), Steering Committee

Q: What made you decide you wanted to become an archivist?

CK: As with a fair number of people I run into, I am an accidental archivist. My previous dream job was working in a museum; I was the Assistant Registrar at the Spurlock Museum and I loved every minute of it. One day the archives called and were looking for information on a photograph in their collection. After doing a bit of digging I found the information they were looking for. It is that problem solving that I love. I soon found myself pursuing a Masters of Library and Information Science. After an out-of-state move, I started working with electronic records on the Minnesota Historical Society’s NDIIPP project around preserving and providing access to state government records. It was my job to research, explore and problem solve many different topics relating to digital preservation. After the grant was over, I worked with the Minnesota State Archives to develop their electronic records program.

Once during an annual review focused on electronic records I was asked, “What was something you didn’t do correctly and how did you handle it?” I answered that there were many things we tried when exploring tools to use to assist with electronic records processing, but if it didn’t work, it wasn’t a failure–it was part of the learning experience. You learned from it and moved on to keep looking for a solution to the problem you were trying to solve. It is that exploration that I love and being able to put the successes into practice in my new dream job as a Digital Preservation Analyst at the University of Minnesota Libraries.

Q: What is one thing that you’d like to see the Electronic Records Section accomplish during your time on the steering committee?

CK: I think that many of us are in the same position – we are doing a lot of exploring. We need to share our experiences with each other. Often times we wait until we are done with a project before sharing, and then usually only the “successful” parts of the exploration are shared. We can’t be afraid to share the whole experience. Facilitating ways to do this would be something I would like to see the ERS accomplish. The listserv and blog are good steps, but other methods that allow people to talk more freely or share things that are still in progress would be useful as well.

Q: What is your favorite GIF?

CK: It’s not a GIF, but…
https://wearetheryan.files.wordpress.com/2014/12/never-forget.jpg?w=540&h=319

 

Thank you to all who voted in the 2015 election for the Electronic Records Section Steering Committee members, and thanks to former Steering Committee members whose terms have ended!

The current ERS leadership roster is available here.

One thought on “Introducing NEW Steering Committee members!

Leave a Reply

